Wreck This Journal: Crack the spine

Standard

I love reading and I love books.  Proper books, with pages that you turn over.  (Remember those?)

Crack the spine

I’m known for keeping my books pristine.  I don’t bend the spine, and I definitely don’t turn over the corners of the pages!  If I lend you my book and you turn down the corners…well, I’d make sure you can run away quickly!!!

So page 2 of WTJ instructs me to ‘Crack The Spine’.  Do whaaaaaat???  Yes, yes, they expect you to deliberately yank back the covers so that the spine creases.

What do you think I am, some sort of animal????

I admit, I had to work up the courage to do this one, but it’s kind of freeing to do it!!  The point of this book isn’t to keep it perfect, after all – it’s got to be wrecked!

Am I the only person who feels a sense of relief when I get my first scratch on my mobile phone/iPod screen?  Because all the pressure is off then – it’s no longer perfect, so another little scratch or mark won’t make a difference because it was already ruined anyway.

Spine

So in the same way, cracking that spine made it easier for me to stop treating my WTJ like a precious stone.  I don’t think I’d have enjoyed myself so much with the other pages if I hadn’t have forced myself to take that step!

I have managed to rope one of my friends into this Wrecking lark, but I have yet to convince her to conquer this demon.  If you’re reading this, you know who you are – Crack it, CRACK IT!!!

(I apologise for the poor photos.  It’s night time, and the lighting in this room isn’t great.  I will try to do better in future.)

5 responses »

What do YOU think? :-)

