Wreck This Journal: Sew this page

Standard

I wasn’t sure how I was going to tackle this page.

One of my hobbies (though it takes a bit of a back seat these days) is cross stitch, so I initially thought about cross stitching something to stick onto the page.  Then I had to decide what I was going to stitch.  I had a look online, but cross stitch kits can be quite pricey, and they’re time-consuming to do, so I wasn’t really very sure.

Then I went in WHSmith and I found these little Make Your Own Patch kits and thought “Ooooooooooooooooh!”

The kit came with three colours of felt, which were already cut to shape, a packet of beads, different colour threads and a needle.  What more could I ask!

I sewed the hearts onto the patch before I sewed it into the journal.  I’m very glad I did, because I really struggled to sew the patch onto the paper, and I got a couple of little rips.  If I had attempted to sew the whole thing through the page I think I’d still be doing it now!!

Before I sewed the patch on, I sewed the trailing threads through to the other side of the page, and then I went around the patch and sewed it to the page.  It was really hard to do because of the angle I was having to hold the book at, so it took much longer than expected!!

When I’d finished, I used the threads to make some little swirly lines around the patch, and then I sewed the page number.

I decided to thread the needle through the page as well, and then glued over it to make sure it was secure.  I really didn’t want it to look like I’d just stuck a ready-made patch onto the page, because I really did put a lot of effort into this page!  Hopefully this was achieved!

This was a very fun idea, and I like that there are so many different (or sew many different!) ways this page could have been done – I doubt any two ‘Sew this page’ entries would ever look the same!  I’m keen to see what other people come up with!!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Please comment and Like this post…it would make my day 🙂

____________________________________________________________________________________________

2 responses »

What do YOU think? :-)

