Wreck This Journal: The cover (Take Two)

Standard

So, I said I had a few ideas for redoing my cover, and here is version number 2!

I managed to remove the owl (as discussed in this entry here) and it pulled off about as much of the cover as I had expected. That Power Pritt is strong stuff!

Before I redid the cover, I wanted new way to hold my WTJ shut because I hated having to use rubber bands. I had some ribbon handles left over from a gift bag that I had cut up for my ‘circles’ page (which is still, and may forever be, a Work In Progress).

I made holes in the covers and reinforced them so that hopefully they won’t rip through the covers if I pull them too tightly!  Then I threaded them through, and now my WTJ ties shut – no more horrible rubber bands!!! 🙂

Once the handles were in place, I started on re-covering the cover. I took this lovely furry fabric and cut it to size. I wanted to keep the words ‘Wreck This Journal’ on the front, so I had to cut a hole in the fabric, which was a bit of a nightmare to do, but I managed it!  And I said a little thank you to the craft gods for the whole being in the right place!

I stuck everything down and folded the material around the other side to neaten it up a bit, and on the back I’ve stuck a sheet of funky pink leopard-print felt. That hides the edges and I think it looks pretty cool 🙂

Hopefully this cover will last longer than the last one. My next decision is this: should I do the back cover the same? I do like things to match, so it seems like the ‘me’ thing to do.

What do you think?

___________________________________________________________________________________________

One response »

  1. Pingback: Wreck This Journal: Fill this page with circles « xlalalalisax

What do YOU think? :-)

